Saturday, 18 February 2017

Steve Moakler gets back to his roots with Steel Town, out March 17


Moakler sets out to headline first country Highway Finds Tour,
 presented by SiriusXM and Live Nation on March 16.

Friday, Feb. 10, 2017 
NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Country artist, Steve Moakler, announces the release of his studio album, STEEL TOWNavailable for pre-order on Friday, Feb. 17 and available everywhere on Friday, March 17

The 11-track album, produced by GRAMMY Award winning songwriter/producer Luke Laird, features SiriusXM hits “Suitcase” (sent to country radio March 14, 2016) and “Love Drunk,” and will be released on the heels of Moakler’s headlining Highway Finds Tour, presented by SiriusXM and Live Nation, which launches Thursday, March 16.

“Looking back and being in the moment can seem like contradictory things, but I think they make each other sweeter somehow. That tension is what this record Steel Town is about,” explained Moakler. “It's the most personal record I've made and even though it's my fourth album, it feels like chapter one in my story.”

Steel Town is Moakler’s fourth studio album and his first full-length release from CN Records (Creative Nation Records).  The album includes five previously released tracks from his self-titled EP (March 2016), along with six new tracks co-written by Moakler. The songwriter, known for cuts by Dierks Bentley, Jake Owen and more, enlisted the help of award-winning writers to create the personal album, including Casey Beathard, Barry Dean, Luke Laird, Gordie Sampson, Caitlyn Smith and more.

Steel Town,” the album’s title track, is a “wistful, mid-tempo acoustic ballad [that] pays tribute to the resilient people of his hometown just south of Pittsburgh: the factories they work in, the bars they unwind in, and the solace they take in their community” (Rolling Stone Country). Moakler pulls inspiration from his roots for “Siddle’s Saloon” written by Moakler and Barry Dean about Moakler’s grandfather’s home bar and in “Wheels” a sentimental reflection on the beauty of returning to your hometown.

The self-titled (EP) made a debut at #38 on Billboard Top Country Albums selling around 800 copies (Chart issue week of April 2, 2016).

The Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania native, a thoughtful, country-tinged songwriter and singer, moved to Nashville, Tennessee in 2006, honing his craft in a town where the best of the best go to do the same thing. Luke Laird produced the five-track effort, hardly a surprise given that Luke co-owns Creative Nation. 

Steve’s sound was described as “rock guitar-charged mainstream country, radio-friendly without sacrificing substance, and devoid of trend-chasing elements such as rapping and electronic elements”.
5 Tracks/ Time: 18:20
Amazon UK - UK iTunes -
Sounds Like Nashville (by Chuck Dauphin) (Rating: Positive)... I wasn’t too deep into “Steel Town,” the opening cut on this EP before I knew this guy is pretty special...He then turns romantic with the to-the-point lyrics of “Suitcase,” which is a highlight – as is the driving sound of “Jealous Girl.”......The EP wraps up with the fun “Love Drunk,” which is the perfect song for summer fun – complete with plenty of personality and some grooving guitar licks that are reminiscent of the 60s sounds. This is good stuff all the way around…..the only thing is it needs a few more cuts….so Steve, give us some more…soon!

Called an “in-demand artist” (Taste of Country), Moakler has landed on more than 20 “artist to watch” lists including CMT, Huffington Post, Nashville Lifestyles, Rolling Stone Country and more. For more information about his upcoming album and tour, visit

CONNECT with Steve Moakler:
 photo Homepage_zpsed80f180.png  photo facebook_zpsc6fe26ab.png  photo twitter_zps621beec6.png  photo instagram_zps11345153.png  photo itunes_zps946e420a.png  photo spotify_zps4119408c.png

Steve will open for Tim McGraw and Faith Hill for a weekend (October 12th, 13th, 14th) on their Soul 2 Soul tour!

Steel Town Track Listing: 

1. “Steel Town” (Steve Moakler / Casey Beathard)
2. “Suitcase” (Barry Dean / Luke Laird / Thomas Rhett)
3. “Jealous Girl” (Steve Moakler / Daniel Tashian)
4. “Summer Without Her” (Steve Moakler / Sarah Buxton)
5. “Love Drunk” (Steve Moakler / Cary Barlowe / Gordie Sampson)
6. “Hearts Don’t Break That Way” (Steve Moakler / Marshall Altman / Barry Dean)
7. “Wheels” (Steve Moakler / Gordie Sampson / Caitlyn Smith)
8. “Siddle’s Saloon” (Steve Moakler / Barry Dean)
9. “School” (Steve Moakler / Andy Albert / Dave Berg)
10. “Just Long Enough” (Steve Moakler / Barry Dean / Luke Laird)
11. “Gold” (Steve Moakler / Chad Cates)

Highway Finds Tour dates are as follows:
Thurs., March 16, 2017 (Charlotte, N.C.; The Underground) - Sat., May 20, 2017 (Chicago, Ill.; Joe’s on Weed Street)
Check out all the dates at

No comments:

Post a Comment