Friday, 12 May 2017

Americana Music Association announces its 2017 Honors & Awards Nominees

Americana Music Association Announces its 2017 Honors & Awards Nominees
During An Intimate Ceremony at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum

L-R, Back Row: Mike Cooley (Drive-By Truckers), Jason Isbell, Jerry Douglas, Caitlin Canty, Patterson Hood (Drive-By Truckers), Abi Tapia (Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum) / L-R, Front Row: Joey Ryan (The Milk Carton Kids), Jed Hilly, Executive Director (The Americana Music Association) and Kenneth Pattengale (The Milk Carton Kids) /  Photo: Rick Diamond, Getty Images

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (May 9, 2017)
The Americana Music Association announced the nominees for its 16th Annual Honors & Awards show this afternoon at an intimate members-only ceremony held at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. The live-streamed event was hosted by The Milk Carton KidsKenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan — and featured performances by Jason Isbell, Jerry Douglas, Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley of the Drive-By Truckers and Caitlin Canty.
Didn't catch the livestream event? You can still watch the program on-demand here
Watch the
A full list of categories and nominees for the Americana Music Association’s 16th Annual Honors & Awards is below:

Album of the Year:
American Band, Drive-By Truckers, Produced by David Barbe
Close Ties, Rodney Crowell, Produced by Kim Buie and Jordan Lehning
Freedom Highway, Rhiannon Giddens, Produced David Bither, Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell
The Navigator, Hurray for the Riff Raff, Produced by Paul Butler
A Sailor’s Guide to Earth, Sturgill Simpson, Produced by Sturgill Simpson

Artist of the Year:

Jason Isbell; John Prine; Lori McKenna; Margo Price; Sturgill Simpson

Duo/Group of the Year:
Billy Bragg & Joe Henry; Drive-By Truckers; Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives; The Lumineers

Emerging Artist of the Year:
Aaron Lee Tasjan; Amanda Shires; Brent Cobb; Sam Outlaw

Song of the Year:

“All Around You,” Sturgill Simpson, Written by Sturgill Simpson
“It Ain’t Over Yet,” Rodney Crowell (feat. Rosanne Cash & John Paul White), Written by Rodney Crowell
“To Be Without You,” Ryan Adams, Written by Ryan Adams
“Wreck You,” Lori McKenna, Written by Lori McKenna and Felix McTeigue

Instrumentalist of the Year:
Spencer Cullum, Jr.; Jen Gunderman; Courtney Hartman; Charlie Sexton

The winners of each category will be announced during the Americana Honors and Awards show on September 13, 2017 at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, TN. 
The celebrated program is the capstone event of “AMERICANAFEST,” the Americana Music Festival and Conference, which runs from September 12-17, 2017.

Each year, the Americana Music Association honors distinguished members of the music community with six member-voted annual awards and with Lifetime Achievement Awards, which will be announced leading up to the event.  

Described by Emmylou Harris as “the shining star of Nashville and music everywhere,” the Americana Honors and Awards show has been broadcast in the past on AXS TV, PBS, and via SiriusXM Radio, BBC2, WMOT, WRLT, WSM, Voice of America and The show has featured many amazing moments in musical history including Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash's last live performance together, as well as show-stopping appearances by Bob Weir, George Strait, Don Henley, Bonnie Raitt, Gregg Allman, The Avett Brothers, Solomon Burke, Rosanne Cash, Civil Wars, Dr. John with Dan Auerbach, Patty Griffin, Levon Helm, Robert Plant and many more. Tickets for the Americana Honors & Awards are available for purchase by conference registrants of the weeklong event.

About The Americana Music Association
The Americana Music Association is a professional not-for-profit trade organization whose mission is to advocate for the authentic voice of American roots music around the world. The association produces events throughout the year; including AMERICANAFEST: The Americana Music Festival & Conference, and the critically acclaimed Americana Honors & Awards program. The Americana Music Association receives enormous support from the Tennessee Department of Tourism, Nashville Convention & Visitors Corp, Epiphone, Lagunitas Brewing Company, Music City Networks, ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC.  

About AMERICANAFEST: The Americana Music Festival & Conference
The 18th annual AMERICANAFEST will take place Sept. 12-17, 2017. The event will once again bring together fans and music industry professionals alike, offering six days of celebration through seminars, panels and networking opportunities by day and raw artist showcases by night. The Americana Honors & Awards Show is the hallmark event of the week's festivities and will take place at the historic Ryman Auditorium on September 13. For more information and ticketing, visit

For more information on the Americana Music Association and to become a member, please visit: 
CONNECT with the Americana Music Association:
 photo Homepage_zpsed80f180.png  photo facebook_zpsc6fe26ab.png  photo twitter_zps621beec6.png  photo instagram_zps11345153.png

No comments:

Post a Comment