Monday, 6 March 2017

Alison Krauss’ 'Windy City' gets its UK release

Rave Reviews from Mail On Sunday, Sunday Express, Sunday Times, 
Independent, Mirror, Sun and The Artsdesk 
Alison Appears on BBC Breakfast discussing “amazing new record” as well as working with Robert Plant, meeting Adele and potential new record with Union Station

Alison Invites Fans To Ask Her Questions Via Guardian Webchat 
– Tune In Live On Monday 

A Beautifully Curated Collection Of Classic Songs
From The Most Awarded Female Artist In Grammy History
Produced By Nashville Veteran Buddy Cannon

Today 27-time Grammy Award winner Alison Krauss releases ‘Windy City’, for the iconic Krauss (who has won more Grammys than any other female artist), it is her first solo album in 17 years. It has been warmly received by critics and fans alike, with rave reviews in publications including the Mail On Sunday who made it the lead review and stated “I defy anyone not to have fallen in love…Krauss has the notes, the soul, the flavour, the lot.” To The Sunday Express who chose Alison as their ‘CD of the Week’. Other publications followed with support from Sunday Times Culture, as well as the I, Mirror, Sun and The Arts Desk.

Appearing on BBC Breakfast Friday morning (March 3, 2017) Alison discussed the new album ‘Windy City’ which finds Alison at the height of her vocal powers, performing 10 classic songs carefully selected with producer Buddy Cannon. Interview included discussing when she met Adele in Nashville, with Alison stating, “I had been getting messages from all over the country that she had talked about us in her show and it was very endearing and very sweet, when she came through Nashville I saw her play and she was adorable… she was amazing when we met, very kind and generous. It was quite the compliment.” She also talked about working with Robert Plant on acclaimed album ‘Raising Sand’ – He is such a joy and a generous person. He lights up the room when he comes in – it was a lot of fun!’

Alison also exclusively revealed that a new album with Union Station is currently being planned  – “I would love to do another band record with Union Station, I’ve got a folder of great songs sitting behind my desk” 

Alison has an action packed promotional trip planned whilst in the UK, which will include a webchat with the Guardian on Monday 6 March, where fans will submit questions to Alison about her career and amazing new album. 
Click here more information

Windy City dropped on February 17th in North America and March 3rd in the rest of the world.

Windy City (Capitol) made a #1 bow atop Billboard’s Top Country Albums and Bluegrass Albums charts and No.9 on Billboard 200. 
It earned 38,000 equivalent albums (36,500 in pure sales) in its launch week,

(3 March 2017) Alison Krauss - Windy City (Decca (UMO))
10 Tracks/ Time: 34:13 | Deluxe Edition (Capitol Records) 14 Tracks/ Time: 47:41
Amazon UK - UK iTunes (US release 17 Feb 2017)

‘Windy City’ Tracklisting:

1. Losing You – Written by Pierre Havet, Jean Renard and Carl Sigman. Originally recorded by Brenda Lee for her 1963 album ‘Let Me Sing’.

2. It’s Goodbye And So Long To You (background vocals by Dan Tyminski and Hank Williams Jr.) – Written by Raymond Couture and Harold J. Breau in 1952. Originally recorded by The Osborne Brothers with Mac Wiseman, it appears on their 1979 collection ‘The Essential Bluegrass Album'.

3. Windy City (background vocals by Suzanne Cox and Jamey Johnson) – Written by Pete Goble and Bobby Osborne. Originally recorded by The Osborne Brothers for their 1972 album ‘Bobby and Sonny’.

4. I Never Cared For You (background vocals by Suzanne Cox and Sidney Cox) – Written and originally recorded by Willie Nelson in 1964 as a single for Monument Records.

5. River In The Rain – Written by Roger Miller for the 1985 Broadway musical ‘Big River: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn’.

7 Page feature "GAL POWER" in the April/May 2017 Issue of
Country Music Magazine in the shops (Tesco, WHS) March 9

6. Dream Of Me (background vocals by Buddy Cannon and Melonie Cannon) – Written by Buddy Cannon, Jimmy Darrell & Raleigh Squires.  Was a top 10 single on Vern Gosdin’s 1981 album ‘Today My World Slipped Away’.  Alison originally heard the song performed live by Jim & Jesse McReynold’s in the early 80’s.

7. Gentle On My Mind (background vocals by Teddy Gentry and Suzanne Cox) – Written and recorded by John Hartford for his 1967 album ‘Earthwords & Music’. It was popularized by Glen Campbell as the title track of his GRAMMY Award-winning 1967 Capitol Records album.

8. All Alone Am I – Originally written by Greek composer Manos Hadjidakis for the film ‘The Island of the Brave’, the song was later given English lyrics by Arthur Altman and popularized by Brenda Lee as the title track of her 1962 album.

9. Poison Love (background vocals by Dan Tyminski and Jamey Johnson) – Written by Elmer Laird. Originally recorded by Bill Monroe as the b-side to his ‘On the Old Kentucky Shore’ single released in 1951.

10. You Don’t Know Me – Written by Cindy Walker & Eddy Arnold. Originally recorded by Arnold in 1955 as a single, it was later popularized by Ray Charles on his 1962 album ‘Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music’.

CONNECT with Alison Krauss:
Home Page Icon Pink x 48 photo Home-Icon-Pink x48_zpsbck4m9sa.png Facebook Icon Pink x 48 photo Facebook_zpsoxry8ygw.png Twitter Icon Pink x 48 photo Twitter_zpsu2lrijql.png Instagram Icon Pink x 48 photo Instagram_zpsuh9qqh6v.png

No comments:

Post a Comment